The Collaborative

Published by

on

Two or more United Methodist congregations sharing a pastor is nothing new. This year, however, Church Hill and Trinity UMCs are trying something new: a collaborative parish. And thus, the Youngstown UMC Collaborative is emerging.

But Pastor Shannon, isn’t that just another way of saying you’re serving a two-point charge?

At first, this will feel like a two-point charge. Two independent congregations maintain their own worship services, leadership structures, and buildings. I have two offices, filled out two sets of paperwork for this fall’s meetings. However, where we start is not the dream of where we may end up.

As the congregations grow in relationship together, I will invite (challenge) you to meet together, worship together, engage in spiritual formation together, and bring forth shared ministries that use the best of what each congregation has to offer to reach the least, the last, and the lost in Liberty Township and the north end of Youngstown. It will take time, and I’m excited for what will emerge.

So, are you only our pastor part-time now?

Not at all! I am serving both congregations full-time. When I am serving in one campus’ office, I am still serving the other. When I am in the community, I am there for all of you.

As is always the case, there will be times that I am not available and there will be tasks and requests that I need to delegate. This is less about serving two campuses and more about the greater reality of ministry in the 21st century – stay tuned for a later blog about that trend. A strong commitment to lay servanthood is more important than ever!

Where can we find you?

For the rest of the summer (that is, August), I will be working completely out of the office except for scheduled meetings. Another reality of ministry in the 21st century is that I’m serving while single parenting, and this will allow me to be present for my children until they go back to school.

Once the school year begins, Tuesdays (CHUM) and Thursdays (Trinity) are planned in-office days. Mondays and Fridays you can find me out and about; check the Collaborative social media accounts to see where I’m landing each day! Wednesdays are my dedicated Sabbath time, an equally important part of my ministry in which I spend time renewing my own relationship with God and engaging in spiritual practices that fill me for the coming days.

I still just…don’t get it.

No worries! This is new and we don’t have a template to work from. This relationship will develop as we go; there will be ideas we try that don’t work and we’ll need to form new ideas. As long as we trust, commit ourselves fully to the process, and engage in good faith, I believe this collaborative parish will do great ministry together.

Find and follow the collaborative on social media, @yumccollab on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Other links are available at linktr.ee/youngstownumccollaborative.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started